Anthony Stewart

Anthony Stewart

  • Title
    Head Coach
  • Email
  • Phone

Anthony Stewart is in his third season as head coach of the UT Martin men's basketball program in 2018-19.

Since Stewart joined the Skyhawk program as the associate head coach under Heath Schroyer in 2014, the team has compiled 73 victories (most in a four-year span in the school's Division-I Era). That includes three 20-win campaigns from 2014-17, which was the first time a UT Martin team had won at least 20 games in three consecutive seasons. Also in that span, the Skyhawks have won five postseason games and was the only Ohio Valley Conference school to win at least one postseason game in each of the 2014-15, 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons.

Last year, UT Martin produced four different players who collected an OVC weekly accolade, which tied the 2008-09 squad for the second-most OVC weekly award winners in school history. Fatodd Lewis won OVC Player of the Week while Delfincko Bogan (Newcomer of the Week), Parrish Hewitt (Freshman of the Week) and Dominique Williams (Newcomer of the Week) also earned the OVC spotlight. 

Stewart presided over a milestone season in 2016-17 as UT Martin's 22 wins equaled the school record for most single-season victories. The Skyhawks shattered the school's single-season record in points (2,693), field goals (966), rebounds (1,312) and assists (555). UT Martin won its first-ever outright OVC West division championship and advanced to the OVC Tournament championship game for the second consecutive year.

After his debut season, Stewart was selected as one of 21 finalists for the 2017 Ben Jobe National Coach of the Year Award, given annually to the nation's top Division-I minority head coach. His 22 wins were the third-highest total of the 29 first-year head coaches in Division-I basketball, trailing only New Mexico State's Paul Weir (28) and Valparaiso's Matt Lottich (24).

The Skyhawks' 14 home wins in 2016-17 were the most in the school's Division-I Era (since 1992) and were the most for the program since 1987-88. UT Martin's 10 nonconference wins were tied for the most in program history and were the most since 1986-87.

In Stewart's final season as associate head coach, the Skyhawks shared the program's first-ever OVC West division title in 2015-16. UT Martin also advanced to the OVC Tournament championship game for the first time in school history in 2015-16 before amassing another win in the Postseason Tournament.

In 2014-15, the Skyhawks went 21-13 - finishing just one win shy of the program record. The 21 wins marked a 13-win improvement from the previous season, which ranked as the fourth-best turnaround in the Division-I ranks.

UT Martin set a program record and led the nation with 12 road victories in 2014-15, including three straight road wins in the Postseason Tournament. The Skyhawks advanced all the way to the Final Four of the CIT, recording their first three postseason wins in the school's Division-I history (since 1992) in the process.

During his overall five-year tenure at UT Martin, Stewart has taken part in several high-profile speaking engagements. He was one of 20 keynote speakers at the 2018 Collegiate Coaching Consortium presented collaboratively by AthleticDirectorU and the National Association of Basketball Coaches at the NCAA Final Four in San Antonio, Texas. For the past two seasons, he has also represented the Skyhawks at the American Cancer Society's Coaches vs. Cancer Tennessee Tip-Off Reception, held in Nashville.

Stewart spent two seasons at Ohio University in Athens, Ohio before venturing to UT Martin. The Bobcats went 49-22 in Stewart’s tenure, which included a pair of postseason appearances.

In 2013-14, Stewart helped Ohio to a 25-12 record and a quarterfinals appearance in the Postseason Tournament (CIT). That followed a 2012-13 season where the Bobcats tallied a 24-10 record, earned a share of their first Mid-American Conference regular season championship since 1993-94 and earned a spot in the National Invitation Tournament (NIT).

While at Ohio, Stewart helped sign Maurice Ndour (top 100 junior college player, second team All-MAC and National Mid Major Player of the Week on Feb. 3, 2014), Travis Wilkins (junior college All-American), Tariq Owens (top 100 player out of high school) and Nehemias Morrilo (member of the Dominican National Team).

Stewart also spent time at Southern Illinois (2011-12), where he worked under head coach Chris Lowery. During his time in Carbondale, he signed Jeff Early, who was a junior college All-American from Monroe College.

Prior to that, Stewart worked alongside Schroyer at Wyoming from 2007-11. He helped recruit seven All-Mountain West Conference players while helping lead the Cowboys to 19 wins and an appearance in the College Basketball Invitational in 2011. He also inked Afam Muojeke, who was named the MWC Freshman of the Year accolades in 2008-09, breaking the all-time freshman scoring record at Wyoming.

Stewart also coached two seasons at Long Beach State (2004-06) and three years at Columbus State Community College (2001-04). He was directly responsible for recruiting Desmar Jackson (2009-10 Freshman All-American) at Wyoming, Aaron Nixon (No. 1 junior college player in the country, 2006-07 Big West Conference Player of the Year) at Long Beach State.

Stewart helped develop Columbus State into one of the best Division-II junior college programs in the nation. In 2003-04, the Cougars tallied an impressive 29-2 overall record and at one point were ranked No. 1 in the nation before falling to Cuyahoga Community College, the eventual national champion. Overall, Stewart recruited three All-Americans and five all-conference first teamers while tallying a 86-36 record at Columbus State.

A native of Akron, Ohio, Stewart played collegiately at University of Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio. He was a two-time Most Valuable Player in basketball while he also lettered three years on the Mount Union baseball squad as a pitcher. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in business management in 1993.

Stewart completed his Master's degree in business administration from Chancellor University in Cleveland, Ohio in 2006.