Printer Friendly Version


2018 Postseason WNIT Bracket

MARTIN, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee at Martin women’s basketball team learned of its first round opponent in the 2018 Women’s National Invitational Tournament this evening as the Skyhawks will travel to Indiana on Thursday, March 15. Tipoff from Assembly Hall will be announced tomorrow.

UT Martin will be making its seventh postseason appearance in the past eight years and eighth in the program’s 26-year Division-I history. This also marks the Skyhawks fourth appearance in the Women’s NIT, joining the field in 1999, 2015 and 2016.

The Skyhawks are coming off a 19-14 overall season while finishing second in the Ohio Valley Conference with a 13-5 league mark. UT Martin pushed its season all the way to the OVC Basketball Championship finals with a pair of wins against Southeast Missouri and SIUE before falling in heartbreaking fashion in the tournament finals to No. 22 ranked Belmont.

UT Martin boasts three players in double figures led by the play of All-OVC first team selection Kendall Spray with 16.6 points per game. OVC All-Newcomer selection Chelsey Perry (11.4 ppg) and junior guard Emanye Robertson (11.2 ppg) rounds out three Skyhawks in double figures.

Indiana enters the WNIT with a 17-14 record after going 9-7 and finishing tied for seventh in the Big Ten Conference. The Hoosiers are led by the play of senior guard Tyra Buss who paces the squad with 20.6 points and 4.9 assists per game while a total of four players score in double figures.

The Postseason WNIT began in 1998 with 16 teams playing for a postseason crown. The event has undergone four expansions, doubling to 32 teams before eventually expanding to the current 64-team format. The Postseason WNIT is the second longest running postseason tournament in women’s college basketball history behind the NCAA Tournament.

The Postseason WNIT will open with all first-round games taking place Wednesday through Friday, March 14-16. The event culminates Saturday, March 31 with the championship game, which will be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network. All games are hosted by participating schools. The WNIT began in 1998 and is in its 20th year.

Further information pertaining to the Indiana matchup, including game time and ticket information will be released on Tuesday, March 13. Check back to for more details and complete Skyhawk coverage throughout the WNIT.


WNIT Format

  • Round 1 – March 14-16

  • Round 2 – March 17-20

  • Round 3 – March 21-23

  • Round 4 – March 24-26

  • Semifinals – March 28-29

  • Championship – Saturday, March 31, 3 p.m. ET


Story Archives