December 3, 2013

MARTIN, Tenn. – For the first time since 1974, a UT Martin student has been elected governor at the Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature’s 44th General Assembly, Nov. 14-17. There were about 430 students representing 39 Tennessee colleges and universities in attendance.

UT Martin senior Jamie Arnett, of Bartlett, a political science and communications major, became the first female from UT Martin, the first female governor since 2002 and only the fourth female to win the governor’s election in TISL (Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature) history.

“I am so honored to be able to serve as the 45th governor of TISL,” Arnett said. 

Also a member of the UT Martin rifle team since 2010, Arnett served on the executive committee this past year. She was the secretary of state. 

“This experience will definitely help me in deciding what I want to do in my future endeavors, especially throughout my career after I graduate,” Arnett said. 

The UT Martin delegation, 22 strong, was a top-five finalist for the Best Delegation, while Mark Maloney won a Carlisle Award, one of six outstanding legislators. Maloney is a junior communications major from South Fulton.

The UT Martin delegation included Arnett, Maloney, Nathan Daniels, John Domanski, John Herron, Elizabeth Sanders, Cassie Rogers, Dylan Gillespie, Benjamin Allen, William Morris, Esaias McKinney, Leia Mitchell, Mary Irby, Mary Jean Hall, Baily Hudlow, Morgan Fitzgerald, Dana Maurizio (a Skyhawk rifle teammate of Arnett's), Amber Sherman, Rachel Washburn, Kelley Parks and Durant Wright. 

Daniels, from Hardin County, was appointed the chief clerk of the House by the Speaker of the House and Domanski, one of three, was elected to the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation (TSAC) Board of Directors. His term on the board begins July 1, 2014.

TISL, operated by an alumni board of directors and an elected student executive council, conducts student legislature elections and debates and votes on bills that could affect the future of Tennessee. The top bills that were passed by the student legislature will be sent to the Tennessee State Legislature for consideration.

Alumni of this collegiate mock legislative program include Secretary of State Tre Hargett; State Treasurer David Lillard; former State Senator Roy Herron and current state representatives Mike Kernell and Ron Lollar.