November 1, 2013

MARTIN, Tenn. - A search committee is in place to search for the next athletics director for the University of Tennessee at Martin. UT Martin Chancellor Tom Rakes selected the committee members to include current coaches, students, university staff, faculty, alumni and community members.

The committee will recommend possible names to succeed Phil Dane, the current athletics director, who has announced his retirement effective Dec. 31, 2013. A short list of acceptable candidates will be sent to Rakes by late December.

“Phil has been the right person at the right time for our athletics programs,” Rakes said of Dane’s service to UT Martin intercollegiate athletics. “He has led the charge improving our facilities, student academic progress, NCAA compliance, and the overall competitiveness of our athletics programs.”

In releasing the names of search committee members, Rakes added, “I’m pleased that these individuals have agreed to assist in this very important search. Athletics is considered by many to be a front porch to a university, and the job of effectively managing an NCAA Division I program is vitally important. I have every confidence that this group will identify persons qualified and capable of leading UT Martin athletics.”

The committee members are:

UT Martin Staff Representatives

•David Belote, committee chair and assistant vice chancellor for student affairs;

•Charley Deal, assistant vice chancellor for alumni relations and annual giving;

•Danelle Fabianich, assistant athletics director for administration and senior woman administrator;

•Joe Henderson, coordinator of student conduct;

•Jason James, head coach, men’s basketball;

•Petra McPhearson, interim director of budget and management reporting;

•Dennis Taylor, head coach, women’s tennis;

•Edie Gibson, executive assistant to the chancellor (non-voting staff position).

Faculty Representative

•Dr. John Schommer, professor of mathematics and faculty athletics representative.

Community Representatives

•David Bryan, registered representative and investment advisor, AXA Advisors, LLC, Chattanooga;

•Wayne McCreight, CEO, The Hamilton-Ryker Group, LLC, Martin;

•David Murphy, owner, Murphy Funeral Home & Florist, Inc., Martin;

•Art Sparks, partner, Alexander, Thompson, and Arnold, PLLC, Union City.

Student Representatives

•Alyssa Curtis, women’s player representative;

•Rick Drewry, UT Martin Student Government Association president;

•Taino Fears-Perez, men’s player representative.

UT Martin competes in NCAA Division I in both men’s and women’s sports and the Football Championship Subdivision. The university is a member of the Ohio Valley Conference.

The UT Martin rodeo team, the only collegiate rodeo team in Tennessee, is a member of the Ozark Region and the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association.