March 14, 2017

Printer Friendly Version

Facebook Live     Star 95.1 FM     WUTM 90.3 FM     Live Stats     UTM Game Notes     UNCA Game Notes

MARTIN, Tenn. - The University of Tennessee at Martin men’s basketball team opens its third straight year in the postseason when it hosts the UNC Asheville Bulldogs in the opening round of the 2017 Postseason Tournament on Thursday, March 16. Tipoff from the Kathleen and Tom Elam Center is set for 7 p.m. and all tickets will be just $10.

The Skyhawks (21-12) are making their third straight appearance in the CIT, tallying a 4-2 mark over the last two seasons. UT Martin is the only Ohio Valley Conference school to win at least one postseason game in each of the last two seasons.

This game marks the first home postseason game in school history, as each of the Skyhawks’ previous 11 postseason games have been played at away or neutral sites. UT Martin is 33-7 in the Kathleen and Tom Elam Center over the past three seasons and carries a seven-game home winning streak into this contest.

The Skyhawks have accumulated three consecutive 20-win seasons, seizing the OVC West division title before making their second straight OVC Tournament championship game appearance in 2016-17.

All-OVC first teamer Jacolby Mobley (18.9 points per game) has led UT Martin in scoring 13 times this season while All-OVC second team member Javier Martinez ranks third in the nation in field goal percentage (.671) to go along with 13 double-doubles this season. Matthew Butler earned OVC All-Newcomer status and also landed a spot on the OVC All-Tournament team after scoring 17.0 points per game in the event.

UNC Asheville (23-9) boasts the most wins of any team in the 26-team CIT field, as the Bulldogs followed a 2016 NCAA Tournament appearance with a share of the Big South Conference championship this year. UNC Asheville ranks second nationally in turnover margin (+5.1) and sixth in steals per game (9.4).

Ahmad Thomas (17.8 points per game) and MaCio Teague (15.7 points per game) each earned All-Big South first team accolades while Nick McDevitt was crowned as Big South Coach of the Year for the Bulldogs, who are ranked No. 23 in the Mid-Major Top-25 poll.

The game will be streamed free of charge on Facebook Live, as a direct link to the game will be available in the upcoming days. A radio broadcast of the game can be heard locally on Star 95.1 FM or on WUTM 90.3 FM. Those links, as well as a link for live stats, can be found at the top of the webpage.

Event Calendar

« February 2018 »
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28