10 HOME GAMES HIGHLIGHT LOADED 2016 SOCCER SCHEDULE

June 17, 2016

Printer Friendly Version

2016 Soccer Schedule

MARTIN, Tenn. –
The University of Tennessee at Martin soccer program will look to continue upon the team’s rich tradition with a loaded 2016 schedule which features several marquee names along with 10 games to be played at Skyhawk Field.

The Skyhawks are coming off a season in which they posted an overall mark of 7-11-1 while notching a 5-4-1 record in the rigorous Ohio Valley Conference. After earning a home game in the first round of the OVC Soccer Championship, the Skyhawks continued a trend which has played towards the top of the league with a 32-13-4 mark in conference play over the past five seasons.

UT Martin will hit the field for the first time on Friday, Aug. 12 when the Skyhawks travel to Arkansas State for an exhibition contest. The Skyhawks will transition from the preseason tune-up into the regular season with their home debut just seven days later against Western Kentucky on Friday, Aug. 19.

After opening the season at home, UT Martin will head south for its next two contests. The Skyhawks will travel to UAB on Sunday, Aug. 21 before taking a seven-day hiatus leading up to a Sunday matchup against Southeastern Conference foe Mississippi State on Aug. 28.

The following weekend will see the Skyhawks play host to a pair of home contests in return contests from a year ago. UT Martin will matchup against Troy on Friday, Sept. 2 before capping off the weekend against UMKC on Sunday, Sept. 4.

UT Martin will play three games over the course of nine days beginning with a road contest at Chattanooga on Friday, Sept. 9. The Skyhawks will then return home to play host to Evansville on Tuesday, Sept. 13 before taking on regional powerhouse Memphis on Sunday, Sept. 18 to close out the non-conference slate.

The Skyhawks will open up OVC play with a pair of road matchups at the top of the schedule. The league slate will open on Friday, Sept. 23 at SIUE before trekking northeast for a Sunday matinee at Eastern Illinois on Sept. 25.

UT Martin is scheduled to welcome Austin Peay to Skyhawk Field on Friday, Sept. 30 before playing host to defending OVC champion Murray State on Sunday, Oct. 2 to close out the brief two-game homestand.

The Skyhawks will meet the midway point of their conference season when they travel to Belmont on Friday, Oct. 7. They will wrap up the road trip with a Sunday afternoon showdown at Jacksonville State on Oct. 9.

UT Martin will close out the home portion of its schedule with a three-game stretch of contests. The Skyhawks will play host to Eastern Kentucky on Friday, Oct. 14 before taking on Tennessee Tech on Sunday, Oct. 16. Skyhawk Field will host its final game of the season on Thursday, Oct. 20 in an OVC Soccer Championship rematch against Morehead State.

The regular season will conclude on Thursday, Oct. 27 at Southeast Missouri.

The OVC Soccer Championship will open with the first round of the tournament to be played at the home site of No. 3 and 4 seeds on Sunday, Oct. 30, with the top two seeds earning first round byes. The final four teams will then embark on the league’s regular season champion to host the event with the semifinals scheduled for Friday, Nov. 4 and finals slated for Sunday, Nov. 6.



Event Calendar

« May 2017 »
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31