June 28, 2013

Printer Friendly Version

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – James Satterfield, a rising junior on The University of Tennessee at Martin football team, has been named to the College Football Performance Awards preseason punter watch list.

A native of Gallatin, Tenn., Satterfield is one of six Ohio Valley Conference players on the CFPA list, alongside Eastern Illinois’s Scott Weatherford, Eastern Kentucky’s Jordan Berry, Murray State’s Steven Mix, Southeast Missouri’s Joe Vucic and Tennessee Tech’s Chad Zinchini. All in all, 32 Football Championship Subdivision punters will compete for the top positional award handed out by the CFPA, the largest awards organization in Division-I college football.

Satterfield became the Skyhawks’ primary punter in 2012, averaging 42.5 yards per punt en route to All-OVC second team honors. Despite tallying just 41 punts in 2012, lowest in the OVC, his 42.5 yards per punt average finished second in the league and 15th nationally.  He placed nine punts inside the 20 yard line while registering three touchbacks.

Satterfield’s 73-yard punt against Tennessee Tech on Nov. 10 ranked as a season-best for the OVC and was the longest for a UT Martin punter in 15 years. The specialist tallied seven punts of 50+ yards, including two kicks which amassed the 70-yard mark.

In addition, Satterfield was named the CFPA OVC Player of the Week after averaging 44 yards per punt against Eastern Kentucky on Sept. 29. He punted six times in the game, including a 70-yarder. He also had two punts inside the 20 yard line and one touchback.

"Congratulations to James Satterfield on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Satterfield has great potential for continued success on special teams in 2013."

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions and players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. The 2013 CFPA FCS awards will be announced on Jan. 8, 2014.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL punters include: Bryan Anger (California), Sam Martin (Appalachian State), Chas Henry (Florida), Drew Butler (Georgia), Shawn Powell (Florida State), Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State), Brandon McManus (Temple), and Patrick Murray (Fordham).

Event Calendar

« April 2014 »
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      


Future Schedules
Coaching Staff
Quick Facts  
Game Notes
Live Stats
OVC Digital Network
Statistics  PDF 
Archived Stats 
OVC Standings
Visiting Team Guide 
Summer Camps
Printable Media Guide