March 14, 2018

Printer Friendly Version

Postseason WNIT Central

Watch: BTN Plus (PPV)

Listen: Star 95.1 FM

Listen: WUTM 90.3 FM

Live Stats

UT Martin Game Notes

Indiana Game Notes

The University of Tennessee at Martin women’s basketball team will open its seventh postseason appearance in the past eight years with a berth in the Postseason Women’s National Invitation Tournament and a first round matchup against Big Ten foe Indiana on Thursday, March 15. Tipoff from Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall is scheduled for 6 p.m. CDT.

The Skyhawks (19-14) are making the squad’s eighth postseason appearance in the program’s 26-year Division-I history on Thursday night. This also marks the program’s fourth automatic berth in the Women’s NIT, posting a 2-3 mark while joining the field in 1999, 2015 and 2016. Along with looking for the program’s third postseason victory on Thursday night, UT Martin is striving to notch just its ninth 20-win season and the sixth under head coach Kevin McMillan since 2010-11.

UT Martin enters the Postseason WNIT having played some of its best basketball down the stretch, winning 11 of its last 13 contests while driving all the way to the Ohio Valley Conference Basketball Championship title game before falling in overtime. During the streak, the Skyhawks have averaged 72.8 points per game while holding opponents to just 63.6 ppg, good for an average margin of victory of 9.2 points.

The Skyhawks boast several offensive weapons throughout the starting lineup. Sophomore sharpshooter Kendall Spray was an All-OVC first team performer after averaging 16.6 points per game – while setting the program single-season record with 121 made three-pointers on the season to rank in the top-10 nationally. Freshman Chelsey Perry earned OVC All-Newcomer honors, averaging 11.4 points and 5.8 rebounds while tallying 37 bocks on the season. Graduate student Ashton Feldhaus earned All-OVC second team honors after averaging 10.7 ppg in league play while senior Janekia Mason earned All-Tournament honors with 23 points and 13 rebounds against No. 22 Belmont in the tournament championship.

Indiana (17-14) is making its fourth postseason appearance in the past five years by earning the automatic bid into the WNIT for the Big Ten. The Hoosiers are making their ninth appearance overall in the WNIT, holding a 12-8 record – including a 9-3 mark at home. The squad is led by All-Big Ten first team selection Tyra Buss who notched her third career honor as the program’s all-time leading scorer (2,241 points) paces the squad with 20.6 points and 4.9 assists per game. Amanda Cahill also earned postseason honors, earning a spot on the All-Big Ten second team with 15.5 points and 8.1 rebounds per game while tallying 44 blocks.

The Postseason WNIT began in 1998 with 16 teams playing for a postseason crown. The event has undergone four expansions, doubling to 32 teams before eventually expanding to the current 64-team format. The Postseason WNIT is the second longest running postseason tournament in women’s college basketball history behind the NCAA Tournament.

Fans can watch the game live, through a pay-per-view option made available through BTN Plus by clicking the link above. Chris Brinkley (play-by-play) and Alex Boggis (color) will broadcast the game on Star 95.1 FM while WUTM 90.3 FM, UT Martin’s award winning student radio station, will also call the action. Links for both radio broadcasts along with live stats are available at the links above. For live, in-game updates, follow the Skyhawks on Twitter at @UTM_Gameday.

Event Calendar

« June 2018 »
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

2017-18 Media Guide

Coaching Staff
Quick Facts
Statistics   PDF   OVC
Game Notes
Live Stats 
Archived Stats/Guides
Printable Media Guide 
Visiting Team Guide
Recruit Questionnaire